WebEx Meetings – Meeting Security and Participant Privileges

Description: WebEx Meetings makes hosting an online meeting easy. You can schedule a meeting in advance or start one right away. When it's time to meet, you can present and collaborate with your team as if you're in the same room. While hosting a WebEx Meeting via the WebEx Meetings application, the host can enable/disable features that will allow them to secure and control the meeting to avoid unnecessary disruptions. These measures are also aide in good web conferencing practices.

How-to Steps:

  1. Under the Participants Tab
  2. Enable: Mute on Entry
  3. Ensure participants are on mute as soon as they enter the meeting so that the main presenter can be uninterrupted upfront. If necessary, the user can unmute themselves at a later time or the meeting host can unmute them.
  4. Disable: Anyone Can Share
  5. Avoid unauthorized screen/application sharing by unchecking “Anyone Can Share”. If necessary, the host can designate specific users as presenters in the course of the meeting.
  6. Enable / Disable: Assigned Privileges
  7. Additional participant features can be enabled to disabled as needed.  
  8. Assigned Privileges – Communicate Tab
  9. If participants need to communicate, but are either muted or don’t have a mic, they could use the chat feature. Enable/Disable "participant can chat" options to allow participants to communicate privately with the host, presenter, and/or with other participants.Enable/Disable "publicly with everyone" to allow/prevent participants to communicate publicly with everyone in the meeting.
  10. Assigned Privileges – Participants Tab
  11. Enable/Disable "annotate" to allow/prevent participants to draw on the digital whiteboard.Disable meeting option "share documents and control shared applications, web browser, or computer remotely" to prevent unauthorized file sharing and screen control.
  12. Lock Meeting & Video Features:

  13. Enable: Lock meeting
  14. Once all the participants are in the meeting, the host can lock the meeting by clicking on the key icon.
  15. Anyone trying to join after the meeting room has been locked will be placed in the lobby and will require authorization to enter the meeting.
  16. Enable: Lock video view
  17. To avoid users being distracted by other participants, pin the video of the presenter for everyone in the meeting. Click on the thumb tack icon to access the lock video option.
  18. Participant Panel & Individual Options:
  19. If a participant is disruptive, there are several actions the host can take.
  20. Right click on the user in the participant panel.
    1. Select Mute to mute their mic, or Stop Video to mute their camera.
    2. To eject a participant from the meeting, select Expel. If the room is locked, the user will not be able to return, unless authorized by the host.

Additional Information:

  • Search or browse our online Knowledge Base
  • Call the CCRI IT Help Desk at (401) 825-1112

Details

Article ID: 104357
Created
Sun 4/5/20 3:53 PM
Modified
Tue 4/7/20 9:58 AM